Home / Latest News / 9 MLCs Joined TRS

9 MLCs Joined TRS

kcr-trs630Nine members of legislative council (MLCs), five from Congress and two from Telugu Desam Party, in Telangana moved to Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on Wednesday. With this, strength of the TRS ruling party in the upper house raised high.

The nine MLCs are: K R Amos, Jagadeesh Reddy, Bhanuprasad Rao, Rajalingam and Bhoopal Reddy (all Congress); Venkateswarlu and Salim (both TDP); Pula Ravinder and Janardhan Reddy (both elected from teachers’ constituencies). This takes TRS’s strength in the Council to 15 from four, including two members getting appointed as Governor’s nominees.

TRS also got a shot in the arm in the Legislative Assembly, with BSP MLAs Indrakaran Reddy and Koneru Konappa joining it. The legislators joined TRS today in the presence of party supremo and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao. This takes TRS’s strength in the 119 member Assembly to 65.