Home / Latest News / Power For All In Andhra Pradesh From October 2

Power For All In Andhra Pradesh From October 2

Power_Electricity_CurrentThe Andhra Pradesh government signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Union Power Ministry under the Power For All scheme to all power consumers (except agriculture) in the state from October 2. Andhra Pradesh is the third state in the country after Delhi and Rajasthan where the scheme is being launched to ensure 24×7 electricity supply. The MoU was signed in the presence of Union minister for power Piyush Goyal and Chief Minister of the state Chandrababu Naidu.

The scheme will be launched and declared power cut free in cities and towns in phase by phase from October 2. After the power cut free declaration the state cannot give excuse for power cuts and the project takes two years to complete.

The state government also signed five other MoUs in power sector with an investment of worth Rs 80,000 crores. The state government and NTPC signed a MoU for setting up a 4000 MW super critical ultra mega thermal power project in Visakhapatnam district at a cost of Rs 20,000 crore. NTPC Chairman Arup Roy Chowdary and AP energy secretary Ajay Jain signed the MoU.

MoUs were also signed between the State and Union governments for setting up three solar power parks in the Rayalaseema region of AP with a combined generation capacity of 2500 MW. This will be world’s larger solar power generation setup. Piyush Goyal said Andhra Pradesh has the potential of becoming a renewable energy hub.